Accessing the The Learn Together Hub Network on the Knowledge Hub
The Learn Together Hub has a ‘network’ of groups on Knowledge Hub. To become a member of the network, you simply need to be a member of one of the The Learn Together Hub network groups (see a full list of network groups here).
The network includes:
- landing pages (via https://khub.net/learntogether) which introduce the The Learn Together Hub.
- a set of collaboration groups on topics of interest.
You can access the network and its groups via the landing page. As a member, you can also access the network from your normal Knowledge Hub home page. Just use the drop down arrow at the top left next to the Knowledge Hub logo and select The Learn Together Hub. This will activate the network and filter all of Knowledge Hub's content so that you only see the Learn Together network content. This means the top navigation (groups, people, library, blogs, events) and the items within your own home page (reached by clicking the logo, top left) relate only to the Network groups and members rather than the whole of Knowledge Hub. You'll also see a link to The Learn Together Hub landing page from there - 'about Learn Together'.
Brief guide to some key areas of the The Learn Together Hub
Clicking the logo in the top left hand corner of the screen always takes you to your own home page. The first thing you always see on returning to your home page is your activity stream, which lists all the activity within the network and groups that you are a member of.
On the right hand side of your home page, you'll also see any announcements from Knowledge Hub, or networks you're a member of and underneath that access to all 'your groups'.
Wherever you are in the site, you'll see your profile image and name, an envelope and bell icon at the top right hand corner. These links will take you to your profile, your messages and your notifications respectively.
Within the main groups section, you'll be able to access an activity stream of everything that's recently been happening in your groups, a list of all your groups and a list of all Knowledge Hub/network groups. Under 'all groups', you'll be able to search for particular groups you want to join.
Click on one of your groups to visit it and participate in the group activity. Here’s what you’ll find in the group:
The group activity page lets you see quickly and easily when the group was started, the number of members, the group’s purpose and who the facilitators are. It also lets you access the most recent activity directly.
On the right you will also be able to see a group poll (if one has been added), otherwise the ‘What’s happening’ micro blog appears, plus a selection of other group members.
The forum is where all the discussion happens. You can post a new thread (conversation) generally, or you can post it under a particular category. You can also browse other threads and reply to them.
Documents can be added into a folder as a single document or multiple documents. PDF documents can be previewed without downloading.
Basic version control is available where documents can be checked out for edits to be made and then checked back in as a new version. The new version is automatically created and the old versions are still available for viewing.
Blogs will be pulled into the group by the facilitators as appropriate. You can comment on and like them. (You can add your own blog to Knowledge Hub by clicking your profile from your name, top right, and going to your blog.)
Wikis are web pages which anyone can edit. This means that any visitor to the wiki can change, update and add to its content if they desire. Wikis are good for using other people's knowledge and experience to help develop an idea or a piece of work.
Promote details of an event here.
Members post their ideas and others can vote on their agreement with the idea. Additionally comments can be provided to elaborate thoughts on the matter at hand. The most popular ideas filter to the top of the list.
This is a list of group members in alphabetical order by surname. Use the search to look for someone in particular and connect with them.
Further help on group features is available here
This area in the to navigation will show you all the most recent activity from your connections, it shows you a list of your connections and a list of 'all people' along with an advanced people search.
Connecting with someone and viewing their profile allows you to send them a direct message.
Connecting is mutual – it requires the person being ‘connected to’ to agree. Once connected, you'll see that person's activity in your activity streams. When your new connection is online then they will be visible in ‘online connections’ located on the bar at the bottom right hand corner of the browser, which enables instant messaging.
If you have any problems accessing or using Knowledge Hub, please contact the Knowledge Hub Team and they would be happy to help.