Planning Advisory Service (PAS) Logo
Planning Advisory Service (PAS)
Open group | Started - July 2012 | Last activity - This week

Beginner in CIL

Brenda Rogers, modified 7 Years ago.

Beginner in CIL

New Member Posts: 16 Join Date: 14/03/17 Recent Posts

Hi Everyone

I am a beginner in CIL (and only temporary while we try and appoint someone who knows what they are doing) and wanted to get your views on what is, I am sure, a few quite simple questions:

If there is an application to convert an existing building into a new dwelling (CIL liable) with no added floor area, and it is confirmed that the existing building has been in use for 6 consecutive months in last three years, do you send a £0 liability notice, or would you say that the proposal is not CIL liable and just send them a letter saying they are not liable for CIL?

If the existing building is a barn, is there any need to ascertain whether the building was in use in the past three years and, if so, how do you do that?

And, finally, what evidence do you ask for to confirm that a building has been in use for 6 consecutive months?

Apologies for what are probably very simple questions but I am getting myself confused!

Thanks.

Brenda

Former Member, modified 7 Years ago.

RE: Beginner in CIL

If there is an application to convert an existing building into a new dwelling (CIL liable) with no added floor area, and it is confirmed that the existing building has been in use for 6 consecutive months in last three years, do you send a £0 liability notice, or would you say that the proposal is not CIL liable and just send them a letter saying they are not liable for CIL?