Planning Advisory Service (PAS) Logo
Planning Advisory Service (PAS)
Open group | Started - July 2012 | Last activity - Today

Section 215 Notices - Appeals

Former Member, modified 14 Years ago.

Section 215 Notices - Appeals

I have just been advised the the local Magistrates Court have refused tothe lodgeing of an appeal against a section 215 notice on the grounds that the appeal was not accompanied by a £200 "adminstrative" fee. The notice is now out of time to appeal. Despite being an enforcment officer, I consider this to be contrary to natural justice, as nowhere in legislation does it indicate any fee is required, and the LPA has never been advised as such. I believe it will adversely affect any furture prosecution should it get to that stage. I would be interested in any comments on this. Not surprisingly, it is the planning office which is taking the brunt of venom resulting from this!

Re: Section 215 Notices - Appeals

This does not appear to be a national policy! I have a Sec 215 appeal at Magistrates Court in October, nothing has been mentioned relating to an admin fee!!

I have had a number of 215 appeals over the years and I have never heard anything about the Courts applying an administration fee, either. Have you spoken to your local magistrates Court about this?

Thanks for your replies. I have asked our legal services to take the matter up with the Magistrates Court. Apparently a similar incident occurred with regard to an appeal against a refusal of a taxi licence application. I have heard that Magistrates Courts are striving to become self funding, so it may be related to this, but it does seem to me totally unreasonable!