Planning Advisory Service (PAS) Logo
Planning Advisory Service (PAS)
Grŵp agored | Wedi dechrau - Gorffenaf 2012 | Gweithgaredd diwethaf - Ddoe

What should Development Management Policies look like in future?

Former Member, Addaswyd 12 Years yn ôl.

What should Development Management Policies look like in future?

I'm a Planning Consultant working with South Norfolk Council to prepare a Development Mangement Policies DPD. A first Reg 25 consultation document will be prepared for late 2011. The NPPF paras 13-14 bring us the "presumption in favour of sustainable development", requires "positive plans" and for LPAs to approve proposals whenever possible, in particular when the plan is "absent, silent, indeterminate or...out of date".....unless the adverse impacts of allowing development significantly and demonstrable outweigh the benefits..." when assessed against the policies in "this Framework..." i.e. the NPPF It is the case that LPAs have been urged to prepare plans that rely on rather than duplicate RSs and PPSs and these are being abolished/dramatically reduced in content. So where does this leave Development Management Policies? To try to expand to fill in all the gaps in RS/PPS coverage and to anticipate and set out all the exceptions where the presumption and the proposal should not be approved? Surely not?! Is the answer in the end of para 14 and 15? i.e. DM policies must give "clear polices that will guide how the presumption will be applied locally" to assess whether the adverse impacts of allowing development would "significantly and demonstrably outweigh the benefits" when assessed against the LOCAL policy framework? Any thoughts and ideas? Do policies need to all start with a repeated positive statement and then a basis of assessment? Anyone at a similar point in the process?

Re: What should Development Management Policies look like in future?