Planning Advisory Service (PAS) Logo
Planning Advisory Service (PAS)
Open group | Started - July 2012 | Last activity - Yesterday

Scope of Development Management charging

Former Member, modified 13 Years ago.

In bringing forward proposals for pre-application charging I am interested to learn of any cases where LPA's have introduced charges for other parts of the process such as compliance/enforcement? Are there examples where the cost of these processes which have recovered?

Re: Scope of Development Management charging

There are lots of examples of charging monitoring fees in s.106 agreements for the cost of monitoring the agreement. I think you'd need legal advice before trying to charge for enforcement of e.g. conditions. But as a lawyer I would say that.

Thank you - I am aware that some authorities may charge for providing letters confirming that conditions have been complied with in respect of development which may be helpful at the point of sale of a propert or completion of a development to assist with solicitors enquiries.